Wednesday, 24 July 2013

Dear Running: Shopping and #WINNING


Hey Running,

 

It looks like we are going to be hanging out A LOT over the next few days.  Here is the schedule for the week.

Monday – 4.5 Miles

Tuesday –  Nike Training Club Workout – 45 minutes

Wednesday – 8 miles

Thursday – 7 miles

Friday – 8 miles

Saturday – 11 miles

Sunday – REST

That is A LOT of miles for us over the next four days, Running.  Seriously, I am CRINGING at the thought of it – more than we have ever done in one week to date, let alone in 4 days.  Yikes!

In typical women fashion I decided that in order to get me through these big mileage weeks I needed some new clothes.  So I got THIS:

 Like A Boss. With BOW. Tank Top. Burnout. Soft. Racerback. Black. Women. Size Small - 2XLarge Inspire. Quote.

THIS:

 

And THIS:


 
One thing I have learned from other races with you, running is to NEVER EVER EVER buy anything new to wear on race day.  Like EVER.  Been there, made that mistake and have actual chafing SCARS on my underarms to prove it.  I’m not sure what I’ll wear for the upcoming half or full marathons yet but these tops made me HAPPY so whatever gets us out the door, I guess!
See Running...now I will be in a good enough mood to head out the door and run 8 miles with you.  You're welcome.
 
#WINNING
 
Beck
XOXO

Saturday, 20 July 2013

Dear Running: Pinterest and Soggy Runs.

Hey Running,

Well, we're starting training week 8 of 20

This last week has been a tough one on our running journey to the NWM in San Fran….like “I’m not sure I can actually do this” tough.  Like “maybe I should sell my spot in the marathon and try again next year” tough.

But then again, Running, the last couple of weeks have been more than a little bit stressful…

Suddenly we’re in the middle of a major move/life change that kind of came out of left field and dealing with the stress leading up that decision as well as the planning involved now for the rest of the summer.

Two weeks ago while we were trying to figure out what to do hanging out with you, Running, was the only thing keeping me semi-sane with a clear head and every run made me feel SO much better.  You know better than anyone that I am a worrier and a planner so I wasn’t getting a lot of sleep or even managing to eat a whole lot while I was making all of my pros and cons lists.  So last week at 2am regularily I would be on Pinterest pinning things like this:
,The Bible says not to borrow troubles from tomorrow. We have enough for today!

And this:
Worry
 
So 2 weeks ago I was pretty much running on frayed nerves and nervous energy and not a whole lot of sleep or fuel in general but I managed to get my runs in and I was feeling strong.  Running - you were my therapy and exactly what I needed.

 This past week I think it’s all caught up to me.  I have completed everything on my training schedule this week but it has taken EVERY ounce of my energy and strength to put on my shoes and get out the door.  Our runs have been slow, and painful and basically discouraging and disappointing.  I’ve thought – why I am I getting WEAKER AND SLOWER?  My half marathon is in 3 weeks!  I will probably get my WORST. TIME. EVER!

Until tonight.

 I am in Sherwood Park this weekend and working in Edmonton for the next few days.  Today was long run day and it’s been hanging over my head since yesterday…why the HECK would I want to get out there and do what I KNEW was going to be an excruciating slow and painful 9 mile (14.5km) run based on how this past week as played out so far? (No offense, Running, but you were the LAST person I wanted to spend time with today...)

I considered getting it over with last night while I was still in Calgary, I even tried to guilt my dad into going with me but it didn’t work.  Running - I couldn’t even convince myself to get it out of the way so I just drove up to Edmonton and promised myself I’d do it early this morning.  No go.  I had a fabulous day with my nephew and helping my sister pack her house then I headed to my hotel about 9pm.  I considered going around the corner to the gym, getting on a treadmill and just getting it over with.  It was raining out and totally gray and getting dark outside.

I don’t know why but I got up, put on my stuff and headed out for a run in the rain.

It was amazing.

I felt strong, I felt alive and I loved every minute of it. 

Was it my fastest run ever?  No. 

Was I sopping wet and running down some dark streets thinking about whether or not they would be able to get Keith Morrison to narrate my Dateline Mystery special after I was pulled into the forest and murdered?  ABSOLUTELY yes.

But it was awesome because I did it.  I did it when I didn’t want to, late at night when I was tired, in the pouring rain, in the dark.  I did it anyway.

I won this week.  I logged the miles even though it sucked.  Every single one of them.

So a new week starts tomorrow.

I’m not giving up.

Week 8, Running.  It's on.

Becka

XOXO

Friday, 12 July 2013

Tuesday, 9 July 2013

Dear Running: Downhill and Diarrhea (Verbal....)

Hey Running,Each step is a victory. Whether you run 1 mile or 20 miles. When you lace up the shoes and head out for your run, you are choosing to get stronger.
This past week has felt much better on our running journey. I feel like we are getting stronger, although VERY slowly.  I fit in some strong runs and cross training last week and have been really focusing on stretching - as I get older I'm realizing we can't get away without stretching anymore - I will get injured WAAAY to easily.

Last week was more of a taper week-  thanks goodness after the 10 mile fiasco last week.  The "long run" was only an 8 miler which I felt very strong and was quite fast.  I think it was because our run was in the evening after I had been able to fuel and hydrate all day and this particular route had a lot of downhill - one thing me and Running love is our DOWNHILL moments.
Running Downhill

Monday marked the OFFICIAL start of our San Fransisco Nike Women's Marathon Training - hereafter referred to as the SFNWM26.2.  There is a cool app they are using this year that I have downloaded to my phone and I am religiously following.

I'm following a program designed to help me set a new personal best record.  To date I have never REALLY cared about time in a race - I find it extremely stressful, my goal has just always been general survival or the race itself.  My Dublin full with a wrecked foot was 4:39:44.  Last year my Victoria marathon was 4:33:56.  Both feel slow but when I look back I know that I did the best that I could under each of the individual circumstances.  Last year I did not train very consistently or effectively and I am determined to work harder this year.

I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be able to run a full marathon in under 4 hours.  Do I really think that is realistic for me?  Actually, yes, but it will be a matter of me making it a priority and shaving 33 minutes off of a marathon is a HUGE feat - I might not make it there this time but just once in my life I would like to record a full marathon time that starts with a 3 hour number.

I'm super grateful for my running buddies this round - I was out tonight with my friend and I realized how grateful I am to have her with me on some of my runs!  The first 20 minutes of our run is always my therapy session - I think that's what I look forward to the most, getting to talk through whatever has been worrying me - and lately that has been LOTS of things!  Sorry K - I save it all up for you!



And so we plug along, We will just keep logging mile after mile until we get there.  Some weeks it takes everything I've got to get out the door and weeks like this past one it feel easier. 

We can do this, Running.

Beck
XOXO
I Think I Can Canvas Art

Saturday, 29 June 2013

Dear Running: Ya JERK.


Hey Running,

Today you were kind of a jerk - I mean, did our long run have to be THAT brutal?  For real - we might need to get my act together here, because I'm not sure I can handle another one like that.

I guess I can't TOTALLY blame it on you, Running.  If I'm really honest with myself.

When I look back at the races we have run in the past I have always done my training while I was teaching a gazillion fitness classes and my overall fitness level was kind of amazing and I had a bunch of extra free time every day. 

After our relay race through the mountains last week I am forced to admit that I pretty much suck right now. My mind thought I was in tip-top shape but my body proved me otherwise. Not teaching aerobics as much (pretty much AT ALL) lately plus the time constraints of a full-time job have really done a number on this body.  Add that to the fact that I'm not the spring chicken I used to be and my diet kind of (really) sucks for the distances I will be doing and it's clear I need to make some changes.

Today was my 10-mile run on the training program I'm following for my Lululemon half marathon in August.  I'm using THIS training program, in case anyone reads this or is interested...

I got myself all ready for morning, packed my fuel belt and loaded up my ipod and headed out early to get dropped off 10 miles out of town.  One of my FAVORITE running buddies Marla came out and joined me for the last 5 miles of my run AFTER working a 12 hour night shift.  Can I also mention that Marla is over 60 and a total MACHINE when it comes to running.  I was grateful to have her with me.

I was ESPECIALLY grateful Marla (THE NURSE!) was with me because about 8.5 miles in I was toast.  I was nauseous, light headed and my legs weighed a thousand pounds.  I remember hitting that same wall in my last marathon about mile 23, but hitting it at mile 8.5 today was pathetic and disheartening.  I hadn't eaten breakfast (I KNOW) which was the major contributing factor but it took everything I had in me to hit that 10-mile mark.  Luckily I have 4 months to make sure that never happens again.

The best part of the run was RIGHT as Marla and I hit our 10-mile mark a couple of town friends, Deedra and Kim, pulled up and leaned out and asked us if we wanted some fresh muffins.  Um, YES!  That helped a lot.  I also hit this awesome massage bed in town right afterwards which will help with my imminent soreness tomorrow, I'm sure.

After our BRUTAL experience today, Running, I texted my time to Stu, an awesome Personal Trainer I met  at the GoodLife Fitness in Burnaby the last time I was there for work.  Stu has been fantastic at emailing and texting me workouts regularly over the past 8 months and he has decided that he wants me to be amazing in my races, which will be a huge challenge but he seems willing to take it on.

Pretty much my goals this week for me is to work harder in my workouts and eat WAY more and WAY better...and not die during my 11-mile run next week - and be a little bit faster.  Stu has sent us VERY SPECIFIC plans to make sure that happens.

You and me, Running....we got this....ya jerk.

Becka
XOXO

Dear Running: Friends on.



Hey Running,

I seriously thought it would be AGES before you and I attempted another marathon together - I always swear that I will NEVER do it again!

As I do every year I put my name in the random lottery draw for the Nike San Francisco Women's Marathon.  I was so sure I would NOT be selected that I completely forgot about it.  Like, totally.

Until 2 days ago.

I was on facebook and I noticed that they would be sending out notification to those who had been selected within 24 hours, so anytime after midnight on Friday the 28th.  Everybody who registered for the race was required to provide credit card information which would ONLY be processed and put through if you were selected for the race.

It was if I knew it was coming.  I woke up at midnight on the 28th and couldn't stop checking my phone.  I hardly slept.  Every Time I felt restless I'd check the phone again.

I hadn't heard anything by 9:00am when I fired up my laptop for work, but by that point NOBODY had as I was checking THIS facebook page continuously to make sure the emails hadn't already gone out.  At about 11am people starting reporting that they were noticing that they had pending charges to their credit cards for approximately the cost of the race.  My online banking actually SHOWS the pending transactions before they go through.  I checked and there was nothing.

I figured I had not been drawn again and I was disappointed but not totally surprised - it's an incredible race and a TON of people try to get in every year.  I was just about to close the window when a transaction popped up.  And there it was.  A transaction from Nike Women's Marathon.  And I knew I was in.  15 minutes later the email arrived.
 
I have been so overwhelmed by the support of my friends and family on facebook - I have been talking about this race for a really long time and I can't believe it's actually happening!
 
I'm going to be getting help from my PT Yoda Stu out in Burnaby to get me ready.  He says we need to fix my diet and get me faster - haha.  I totally knew both of those things already.  First on my radar is the lululemon half marathon in August then focus on the full.
 
Yikes!
 
Looks like you and I will be spending a lot of quality time together, running. 
 
Becka
XOXO