Saturday, 28 July 2012

Dear Running: My list of GRIEVANCES against you.

Dear Running,

So today on our run I was suddenly remembering all of the INCONVENIENCES of training, including, but not limited to the following.

1.  Legs CHAFING from rubbing together - yes, my thighs rub together sometimes.  Sigh.  Running, sometimes you are so hard on my self-esteem....

2.  TOENAILS turning black and falling off - runners feet are super sexy.

3. CONSTANT LAUNDRY cycles - Having to do a load of my favorite running stuff every day so it's right ready to go again the next day.  I have clothes that "bug" me on my runs so when I find something that doesn't I use it to death....

4.  Getting sick of all my MUSIC because I spend so many hours listening to my iPod and spending hours trying to find some new song I like - BTW, the Whistle song by Flo Rider?  SUPER catchy, until you actually listen to the words...which I didn't before I bought it.  Yikes.

5. Spending so much TIME actually training, thinking about training and preparing for training.  It is a very time consuming process, all this spending time with you, Running!

Even with all of these inconveniences do I still love it?  YES!  Will I continue?  YES!  Me and my buddy Running are on ROLL!


Our 7 Mile run today (it was an easier training week) went well EXCEPT for the fact I almost got hit by several cars speeding by me on the highway  with cracked out windshields from the hailstorm.  Could you even believe that guy that narrowly missed us, Running?  Now we have our list of grievances, like many other runners/bikers, about sharing the road with inconsiderate motorists but seriously, Running?  WHY would people DRIVE if their windshield looked like that?  Don't worry, I called the RCMP when I got home to complain.  Made me feel way better.

I'm sure you noticed, Running, that I also experienced some minor anxiety when I began to feel a bit of a *twinge* coming from my left knee, my previous problem knee.  I know you already know, but I'm alway SUPER paranoid that I'm going to start having knee problems again that will prevent me from from developing our relationship, Running.  I know you're worried, but  I will give this knee some extra TLC today and tomorrow on my rest day.  Fingers crossed we will continue to have many wonderful days ahead of us.

BTW - I'm WAY enjoying my post-run shake today.  Thought I'd share the recipe.  I realize most people aren't fans of the "green" smoothie, and I personally fought it tooth and nail for YEARS, but this one tastes like an orange creamsicle, no word of a lie.

Becka's Orange Dreamsicle Post-Running Shake

1 cup unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
3 big handfuls of baby spinach, frozen (YES! it freezes AWESOME!)
2 cups of Kale
1/3 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
4-5 ice cubes
3/4 cup plain unsweetened greek yogurt - I really like the Kirkland Brand - plus it's a great price and comes in a 3 pack.
1 scoop of Vanilla Protien OR 2 scoops of Visalus Shake Mix

Blend until nice smooth and Enjoy.  It's thick, super creamy and you can't even taste the "green."

Our family is headed to the mountains today to enjoy the beautiful sunshine!

I'm REALLY looking forward to a day off tomorrow...it was a heavy week on the WEIGHTS this week and my muscles are sore.

See you Monday, Running!

Love,

Becka
XXOO


No comments:

Post a Comment